Governor Greg Gianforte announced the State of Montana has added three additional counties to the presidential major disaster declaration for Montana: Yellowstone, Treasure, and Sweet Grass. Six counties in southern Montana are now eligible for aid through FEMA’s Public Assistance Program.

“I appreciate Administrator Deanne Criswell and her team at FEMA for approving the state’s request to add Sweet Grass, Yellowstone, and Treasure counties to the presidential major disaster declaration for Montana,”

On June 16, Gov. Gianforte announced the state secured a major disaster declaration for severe flooding. The initial declaration applied to Park, Stillwater, and Carbon counties.The federal aid that accompanies the major disaster declaration supplements state and local resources being used to offset widespread damage caused by the flooding. Specifically, the FEMA Public Assistance Program provides supplemental federal grant assistance for debris removal and the restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities, and specific facilities of certain private nonprofit organizations.


You must be logged in to post a comment.